ComEd Green Region


The 2020 ComEd Green Region grant cycle is now open! Click here to start your application.

Openlands partners with ComEd to administer the ComEd Green Region Program. Recognizing that open space in our communities is a crucial element of the quality of our lives, the ComEd program awards grants to public agencies supporting their efforts to plan for, protect, and improve open space in ComEd’s service area of northern Illinois.

Grants of up to $10,000 support open space projects that focus on planning, acquisition, and improvements to local parks, natural areas, and recreation resources. Grant recipients can use Green Region grants in combination with other funding sources to cover a portion of the expenses associated with developing and/or supporting their open space programs. Learn more about the 2020 program guidelines.

With the tremendous interest in pollinator conservation since the 2017 grant cycle, we are excited to announce that the 2020 ComEd Green Region Program will continue to have a special focus on pollinators!

View the 2019 recipients of the ComEd Green Region Program.

A wide range of diverse projects, at many different scales, have been funded by the Green Region Program since 2013. Here are just a few examples of possible projects:

  • A village park district designs a public-access boardwalk around a wetland at one of their parks and creates signage interpreting the wildflowers growing in that wetland.
  • A city designates a parcel of land for building a public trail and planting prairie wildflowers, and works with a non-profit partner organization to recruit volunteers that help plant the wildflowers during a planting workday.
  • A local soil and water conservation district provides materials and assistance to install native pollinator habitat buffer strips along farmland within a community.

Grant applications are reviewed by an advisory committee composed of county government officials and members of the region’s non-profit conservation community. Learn more about how to apply.

Learn more about ComEd and the ComEd Powering Safe Communities grant program.

How to Apply

Everything you need to apply for a ComEd Green Region Grant.