How to Apply

Eligible Applicants

Eligible Applicants are municipalities, townships, counties, park districts, conservation districts and forest preserve districts within ComEd’s service territory in the following counties: Boone, Bureau, Carroll, Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Ford, Grundy, Henry, Iroquois, Jo Daviess, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, Lee, Livingston, Marshall, McHenry, Ogle, Rock Island, Stephenson, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford. Please check that your community is located in the service territory before applying.

Starting this year, past grantees are eligible to reapply only if they have fully completed their grant requirements, including but not limited to submitting their final grant report.

Non-profit organizations and all other units of government not listed above (such as schools, school districts, and housing authorities) are not eligible to apply but are strongly encouraged to partner on joint projects with an Eligible Applicant. Please see the Program FAQ’s for more information about eligibility.

Eligible Applicants must be in good standing with ComEd related to provision of utilities.

Timeline – 2019 Grants Cycle

  • January 18 (9am): Grants Cycle opens.
  • March 15 (5pm): Application Deadline
  • Late June–Early July: Notifications Sent to all Applicants

Application Materials

Grantees are responsible for reviewing all of the program materials to ensure their projects and final grant reports meet the terms of the ComEd Green Region program.

2019 Advisory Committee

Completed and eligible applications will be reviewed and prioritized by a geographically-diverse committee composed of county government officials and members of the region’s non-profit land conservation community. Final decisions on recipients and amounts will remain at the discretion of ComEd.

  • Megan Andrews, Kendall County Soil & Water Conservation District
  • Kevin Bennett, Trees Forever
  • Lynn Boerman, Illinois Department of Natural Resources
  • Catherine Game, Brushwood Center
  • Kerry Leigh, Natural Land Institute
  • Dan Lobbes, The Conservation Foundation
  • Karen Miller, Kane County Development Department
  • Darrell Moore, Woodstock City Hall
  • Kathleen O’Connor, Libertyville Township
  • Kristen Pratt, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum
  • Jan Roehll, The Conservation Foundation
  • Peggy Doty, University of Illinois Extension
  • Berni Carmack, Project Learning Tree
  • Jennifer Nowicki, Jane Addamsland Park Foundation
  • Trevor Edmonson, the Wetlands Initiative
  • Jim Johansson, Jo Daviess Conservation Foundation
  • Melissa Custic, The Morton Arboretum
  • Dan Kane, Boone County Conservation District
  • Dave Holman, Lake County GIS Specialist
  • Ralph Schultz, Forest Preserve District of Will County